My house build journey : Roof , windows and the contractor hell problem

Shailesh
8 min readDec 30, 2022

[Writing this article after a super long gap. Have moved in.]

This article is about roof and window installations.

My previous articles at

  1. My house build journey : Location
  2. My house build journey : Design
  3. My house build journey : Building permit
  4. My house build journey : Technical Consultation
  5. My house build journey : Stalled by Bank Bureaucracy
  6. My house build journey: Start Message
  7. My house build journey: Foundation
  8. My house build journey: CLT frame installation (K L trä stomresning), Insulation (Isolering)

The main lesson learnt is this leg of the journey

“If a contractor decides to mess with you , you have no other option other than getting messed one or the other way”.

  1. The work is delayed.
  2. The contractor leaves the job half way.
  3. The contractor does a shabby job.
  4. The stress of finding another contractor. Crazy difficult to convince another contractor clean up someones shit.
  5. Weather can impact the half finished work.

In my case, all of the above happened and even more.

--

--

Shailesh

Solving Problems. Making Software Better. Intrigued by Elegant Solutions. https://twitter.com/agent_hunt